Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Anna Maria Holds 2015-16 Athletic Awards Night

Anna Maria Holds 2015-16 Athletic Awards Night


PAXTON, Mass. – The Anna Maria College athletic department honored its top student-athletes of 2015-16 at the annual awards banquet, held Tuesday evening in Anna Maria's Zecco Auditorium.

Highlighting the special award winners were Patrick Bradanese (Billerica, Mass.) and Kylie Dalbec (Portland, Maine) of the men's basketball and field hockey teams, respectively, who were named the Male and Female Athletes of the Year.

Bradanese had an incredible season for the AMCAT basketball team as a senior, averaging 20.5 points per game and leading the GNAC in assists with 157, which ties the Anna Maria record for assists in a season. He became the school's 22nd 1,000-point scorer in mid-February and scored a career-high 33 points in the final game of his career in the ECAC Championship game.

Dalbec's award culminates a decorated career on the field hockey field. A three-time conference major award winner, Dalbec graduates as the program leader in goals, assists, and points. During her senior season, she led the AMCATS in goals (15), assists (18) and points (48) despite missing two games due to injury.

Anna Maria also recognized Amari King (Lawrence, Mass.) of the volleyball team and Francis Cole (Maspeth, N.Y.) of the football team as the Female and Male Rookies of the Year.

Men's basketball player Tyler Delorey (Worcester, Mass.) and fellow senior Samantha Parker (Athol, Mass.) of the volleyball team were named as the 2016 Senior Award winners. President Mary Lou Retelle presented Delorey and Parker with their awards.

Senior Mary Kate Breen (Londonderry, N.H.) of the field hockey team and senior Kevin Grey (Middleborough, Mass.) of the football team were awarded the Stephen C. Washkevich Award. It marks the second-straight season that Grey has earned the Washkevich Award, which is granted to a student-athlete who has made exceptional contributions to his or her team.

Associate Athletic Director Vincent Sinagra presented the Ray LeBoeuf Sportsmanship Award to softball player Elizabeth Haggerty (Charlton, Mass.) and football player Kolin Matthews (Seymour, Conn.). Both active in campus ministry,

LeBoeuf presented the Nancy Naroian Award to volleyball player Emily Adriaansen () and football player Juan Palacio (), who both worked as managers for other teams in addition to playing their own sports.

The evening opened by each coach speaking on their season and awarding a Coaches Award and Most Valuable Player award to members of their team. The complete list of award winners is below.

The AMCAT athletic staff also recognized 39 seniors who dedicated four years to their respective sports. The evening concluded with the 2015-16 Highlight Video.

2015-16 Highlight Video

2015-16 Highlight Video
May 13, 2016

2015-16 Award Winners

Male Athlete of the Year
Patrick Bradanese, men's basketball

Female Athlete of the Year
Kylie Dalbec, field hockey

Senior Award
Tyler Delorey, men's basketball
Samantha Parker, volleyball

Male Rookie of the Year
Francis Cole, football

Female Rookie of the Year
Amari King, volleyball

Ray LeBoeuf Jr. Sportsmanship Award
Elizabeth Haggerty, softball
Kolin Matthews, football

Nancy Naroian Award
Emily Adriaansen, volleyball/lacrosse manager
Juan Palacio, football/women's basketball manager

Stephen C. Washkevich Award
Mary Kate Breen, field hockey
Kevin Grey, football

Four-Year Commitment Awards
Emily Adriaansen, volleyball
Christopher Bettano, football
Lindsay Bond, women's basketball
Patrick Bradanese, men's basketball
Mary Kate Breen, field hockey
Nick Cruz, football
Kylie Dalbec, field hockey
Tyler Delorey, men's basketball
Ryan Dirienzo, football
Jeffrey Fletcher, men's soccer
Nathaniel Goncalo, football
Kevin Grey, football
Elizabeth Haggerty, softball
A.J. Huber, football
Brittany Jackson, volleyball
Ronald Kikonyogo, football
Aaron Koehler, football
Elliot Kuzma, men's soccer
Kayla Lapierre, field hockey
Brianna LaRegina, volleyball
Kolin Matthews, football
Kyle McKissick, men's basketball
David Morrow, football
Connor O'Leary, men's basketball
Samantha Parker, volleyball
Juan Palacio, football
Corey Pryor, men's basketball
Alex Rezendes, men's lacrosse
William Ricard, football
Tyler Rocha, football
Teresa Ryan, women's soccer
Victor Sambola , football
Freya Sprous, tennis
James Steiner, football
Manuel Suarez, football
Zackary Sylvia, football
Gavyn Torres, men's Soccer
Pedro Trindade, men's basketball
Angela Vousboukis, softball 

Male and Female Athlete of the Year Winners pose with Athleic Director Laura Habacker

MVP and Coaches Award Winners

Women's Cross Country Coaches Award – Hannah Pritchett
Women's Cross Country MVP – Maureen Moore
Men's Cross Country Coaches Award – Ted Duchesney
Men's Cross Country MVP – Casey Quirk
Field Hockey Coaches Award – Kylie Dalbec, Kayla Lapierre
Field Hockey MVP – Mary Kate Breen
Football Coaches Award – Jake LeBlanc, Kolin Matthews, Aaron Koehler, St. Clair Ryan
Football Offensive MVP – Kevin Grey
Football Defensive MVP – Michael Sinto
Men's Soccer Coaches Award – Ray O'Flaherty
Men's Soccer MVP – Daniel McElhinney
Women's Soccer Coaches Award – Kate Kneeland
Women's Soccer MVP – Ashley Bottis
Tennis Coaches Award – Freya Sprous
Tennis MVP – Callie Mulcahy
Volleyball Coaches Award – Brittany Jackson
Volleyball MVP – Jessica Goulet
Men's Basketball Coaches Award – Kyle McKissick
Men's Basketball MVP – Patrick Bradanese
Women's Basketball Coaches Award – Kayla Odegaard
Women's Basketball MVP – Lindsay Bond
Baseball Coaches Award – Callan Finn-McMahon
Baseball MVP – Matthew Leahey
Lacrosse Coaches Award – Alex Rezendes
Lacrosse MVP – Edward Jankowski
Softball Coaches Award – Elizabeth Haggerty
Softball MVP – Jacqueline Lapierre