Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Anna Maria College Hosts 2017 Athletics Awards Night

Anna Maria College Hosts 2017 Athletics Awards Night

PAXTON, Mass. – The Anna Maria College athletic department honored its top student-athletes of 2016-2017 at the annual awards night, held Monday evening in Anna Maria's Zecco Auditorium.

Highlighting the special award winners were Amari King (Lawrence, Mass.) and Mike Rapoza (Charlton, Mass.) of the women's volleyball and men's basketball teams, respectively, who were named the Female and Male Athletes of the Year.

King had an incredible season as she was named the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC Volleyball Player of the Year and to the GNAC All-Conference first team. She was named the GNAC Volleyball player of the week four times this season and led the AMCATS with a total of 550 kills on the season, while averaging 4.78 kills per set. King helped lead the AMCATS to their first GNAC postseason victory in program history. She had 39 kills and 24 digs in their quarterfinal victory over Saint Joseph's College of Maine. King also helped lead the AMCATS to their ECAC Division III Women's Volleyball championship, first round appearance. King was also named her team's Most Valuable Player.

As a freshman, Rapoza earned recognition as the Anna Maria Male Athlete of the Year. He had an outstanding first year as an AMCAT as he was named the GNAC men's basketball Rookie of the Year. Rapoza was named to the GNAC All-Conference second team and was voted the conference rookie of the week five times this season. He finished the season averaging a team high 17.1 points and 12.7 rebounds per game making himself known as a double-double machine throughout the league. He recorded double-doubles in 20 out of 26 games this season while notching a career high 24 points in the AMCATS win over Mount Ida in December.

Anna Maria also recognized Tierney Clancy (Meriden, Conn.) of the volleyball team and Brandon Pavoni (Granby, Mass.) of the lacrosse team as the Female and Male Rookies of the Year.

Baseball player Matthew Leahey (Rutland, Mass.) and fellow senior Katherine Albro (Leicester, Mass.) of the field hockey team were named as the 2017 Senior Award winners. President Mary Lou Retelle presented Leahey and Albro with their awards.

Senior Kaitlyn Moran (Leicester, Mass.) of the field hockey team and sophomore Paul Schwarz (Staten Island, N.Y.) of the lacrosse team were awarded the Stephen C. Washkevich Award. This award is granted to a student-athlete who has made exceptional contributions to his or her team.

Head athletic trainer, Raymond LeBoeuf presented the Ray LeBoeuf Sportsmanship Award to field hockey junior, Bryanna Tobin (Deep River, Conn.) and men's basketball senior, David Jean Louis (Mirimar, Fla.). Both extremely active around the Anna Maria College campus and involved in the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.  

Men's Basketball head coach and assistant Athletic Director, Shawn Conrad, presented the Nancy Naroian Award to field hockey player and manager Kayla Garczynski. Since multiple knee injuries during her freshman and sophomore years, Garczynski has given back to the Anna Maria athletic department in multiple ways including as a manager of the field hockey team and a consistent work study student in the athletic sports information department.

A senior female and male were named Scholar Athletes of the Year for having the highest grade point averages as senior student-athletes. Kate Kneeland (Windham, Maine) of the women's soccer team and Paulo Salgueiro, Jr. (Attleboro, Mass.) of the football team were both recognized for their outstanding performances in the classroom. Christine Holmes, Anna Maria College's Vice President for Academic Affairs, presented Kneeland and Salgueiro with their awards.

A Team Academic Award was also given out. The team academic award goes to the athletic team with the highest cumulative GPA. This year's recipient was the Field Hockey team. They also accepted their award from Holmes. 

The evening opened by each coach speaking on their season and awarding a Coaches Award and Most Valuable Player award to members of their team. The complete list of award winners is below.

The AMCAT athletic staff also recognized 33 seniors who dedicated four years to their respective sports. The evening concluded with the 2016-17 Highlight Video.

2016-2017 Highlight Video

2016-2017 Award Winners

Male Athlete of the Year
Mike Rapoza, men's basketball

Female Athlete of the Year
Amari King, Volleyball

Senior Award
Matt Leahey, baseball
Katherine Albro, field hockey

Male Rookie of the Year
Brandon Pavoni, lacrosse

Female Rookie of the Year
Tierney Clancy, volleyball

Ray LeBoeuf Jr. Sportsmanship Award
Bryanna Tobin, field hockey
David Jean Louis, men's basketball

Nancy Naroian Award
Kayla Garczynski, field hockey/manager/work study

Stephen C. Washkevich Award
Kaitlyn Moran, field hockey

Paul Schwarz, lacrosse

Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year

Kate Kneeland, women's soccer

Paulo Salgueiro, Jr., football

Team Academic Award

Field Hockey 

Four-Year Commitment Awards

Field Hockey –Katherine Albro, Lauren Beauregard, Lauren DiPillo, Kaitlyn Moran

Football – Andrew Bailey, Joseph Colao, Dylan Copeland, Malik Faison, Alex Geiger, Stefano Marziale, Gregory McGoldrick, St. Clair Ryan

Men's Soccer – Jonathan Alicea, Dalton Gill, Christopher Mattioli, Dylan Reney

Women's Soccer – Melissa Andersen, Paige Leighton, Rebecca Mauricio, Kaleigh Price

Tennis – Laura Cabral, Jessica Gautieri, Marissa Leonard

Volleyball – Demi Carrero

Men's Basketball – David Jean-Louis

Women's Basketball –Emily Capstick, Christina Gauvin, Deja Taitt

Softball – Alexis Romano

Baseball—Joseph Fahey, Matthew Leahey, Jonathan RoyNathaniel Goncalo, football


MVP and Coaches Award Winners

Field Hockey Coaches Award – Katherine Albro
Field Hockey MVP – Kaitlyn Moran
Football Coaches Award – Paulo Salgueiro, Jr.
Football MVP – Stefano Marziale
Men's Soccer Coaches Award – Tim Harrington
Men's Soccer MVP – Christopher Mattioli
Women's Soccer Coaches Award – Karlyn Brown
Women's Soccer MVP – Kate Kneeland
Tennis Coaches Award – Casey Lacasse
Tennis MVP – Jessica Gautieri
Volleyball Coaches Award – Tierney Clancy
Volleyball MVP – Amari King
Men's Basketball Coaches Award – Jesse Maresca
Men's Basketball MVP – Mike Rapoza
Women's Basketball Coaches Award – Emily Capstick
Women's Basketball MVP – Christina Gauvin
Baseball Coaches Award – Tanner Jakola
Baseball MVP – Matthew Leahey
Lacrosse Coaches Award – Brandon Pavoni
Lacrosse MVP – Paul Schwarz
Softball Coaches Award – Mackenzie Shurtleff
Softball MVP – Alexis Romano