Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Student-Athletes Honored at Annual Athletic Awards Night

Student-Athletes Honored at Annual Athletic Awards Night

PAXTON, Mass -- On Thursday, May 3rd the Anna Maria College athletics department held their annual Athletic Awards Night at the Zecco Performing Arts Center on the campus of Anna Maria College before a great crowd of student-athletes, parents, coaches and administrators, including AMC President, Mary Lou Retelle.

The night began with a reception in Jacques Conference room where student-athletes, parents, families, coaches and administrators had a chance to mingle while munching on some desserts and watching a video presentation of our 2017-2018 athletic year. 

Athletics Director, Serge DeBari and Sports Information Director, Joe Malkin served as the co-masters of ceremony for the evening. They praised the student-athletes, parents and coaches for their dedication and committment to Anna Maria athletics both on and off the field of play. 

The ceremony began with the presentation of the team awards. Each coach presented an MVP Award and a Leadership Award to two of their athletes. Team awards were followed by recognizing the four-year commitment athletes and then the major awards which included Female and Male Athlete of the year, Senior Athlete of the Year and three newly added awards for 2018. 

This year's athletic awards winner were:

Team Awards

Cross Country

MVP- MacKenzie Shurtleff

Leadership- Tim Austin

Field Hockey

MVP- Jackie Lapierre

Leadership- Danielle Huston


MVP- Trai Weaver

Leadership- Charles Dickerson

Men's Soccer

MVP- Derrick Casey

Leadership- Ryan Todesco

Women's Soccer

MVP- Shannon LeBlanc

Leadership- Juliana Ceccarini

Women's Volleyball

MVP- Becca Foti

Leadership- Carolina Garcia

Men's Basketball

MVP- Mike Rapoza

Leadership- Liam Pickett

Women's Basketball

MVP- Kristina Russo

Leadership- Kayla Odegaard


MVP- Adam Twitchell 

Leadership- Tanner Jakola

Men's Lacrosse

MVP- Paul Schwarz

Leadership- Brandon Pavoni


MVP- Jackie Lapierre

Leadership- Amanda Lemire


Four-Year Commitment Awards

Field Hockey- Nicole Denver, Bryanna Tobin

Football- Jacob Achelus, Charles Dickerson, Trai Weaver

Men's Soccer- Derrick Casey

Women's Soccer- Emily Liakos, McKenzie Sparling

Women's Volleyball- Kerri Earle, Becca Foti

Men's Basketball- John Birch, Kenneth Graham, Liam Pickett

Women's Basketball- Kristina Russo, Kayla Odegaard

Baseball- Cam Brown, Trevor Brown

Men's Lacrosse- Malik Griffith, Andrew Marcotte, Paul Mills, Dan Rinkus

Softball- Amanda Lemire, Kacey Rendock, Hannah Trudo

Multi-Sport Four-Year Commitments

Field Hockey/Softball- Jackie Lapierre

Men's Basketball/Baseball- Tanner Jakola


Major Award Winners

Sister Rollande Quintal Service to Athletics Award- Presented to a person or group for their service to the athletics department.

Matt Simpson and the Physical Plant

Female Senior Scholar Athlete- Becca Foti (Women's Volleyball)

Male Senior Scholar Athlete- Trevor Brown (Baseball)

Team Academic Award- Field Hockey (3.326)

Nancy Naroian Award- Presented to two individuals for their extraordinary contributions to athletics behind the scenes. 

Darren Belliveau and Suzy Pekar

Ray LeBoeuf Sportsmanship Award- Presented to a student athlete for their sportsmanship, dedication, etiquette, and kindness on and off the field.

Kayla Odegaard (Women's Basketball)

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year- Emmanuel Leake (Football)

Female First Year Player of the Year- Franny Hammond (Women's Basketball)

Male First Year Player of the Year- Noah Holland (Baseball)

Stephen Washkevich Award- Presented to two student athletes for their extraordinary contributions to AMC Athletics on the field. 

Kristina Russo (Women's Basketball) and Paul Schwars (Men's Lacrosse)

Len Smith Award- Presented to a student-athlete who exemplifies dedication and characted on the athletic field and in the classroom

Tanner Jakola (Men's Basketball/Baseball)

Female Senior Award- Becca Foti (Women's Volleyball)

Male Senior Award- Trai Weaver (Football)

Male Athlete of the Year- Mike Rapoza (Men's Basketball)

Female Athlete of the Year- Jackie Lapierre


For more information on all of our outstanding student athlete's click over to their respective sports to see their biographies and statistics.

Congratualtions too all of the award recipients for the 2017-2018 year. We look forward to a great 2018-2019 season!