Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Sports Information

AMCATS Hold Annual Athletic Awards Banquet

AMCATS Hold Annual Athletic Awards Banquet

Paxton, Mass. – The Anna Maria College Athletic Department honored its own on Monday night at the annual Athletics Award Banquet.

Stanley Vieira, Director of Athletics, emceed the evening as the AMCATS honored the student-athletes‘ achievements including all-conference teams, four-year commitment awards, academic success as well as announcing the major award winners.

Senior Jeff Scafidi was the recipient of the AMCAT Male Athlete of the Year while classmate Katie Schebel collected the AMCAT Female Athlete of the Year.

Schebel, the most successful goal-scorer in Anna Maria women’s lacrosse history, finished her highly decorated career with 204 points, including 183 goals and 21 assists. A team captain for four year, she also holds AMCAT records for ground balls, draw controls, and caused turnovers.  She provided the same hard work and dedication in the fall, as she helped lead the field hockey team to a 2011 NECC playoff appearance.  Schebel ended her career with 42 career points, including 14 goals in 14 assists. 

Scafidi has re-written the Anna Maria baseball record books. He holds 12 all-time records including batting average (.404), hits (230), home runs (14), RBI’s (143), and total bases (353). The captain was a major contributor to the 2011 ECAC New England Championship team. The Worcester native was rewarded for his fantastic season by being named the 2012 GNAC Player of the Year, putting a cap on his stellar 4-year career. 

Senior Julianne Hartley, a member of the women’s cross country team, was selected at the Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Hartley had an outstanding 2011 fall leading the way for AMC in all seven meets. In the classroom she will graduate with a 3.99 GPA and a double major in Music Therapy and Psychology and has recently been named as a commencement speaker on May 19th.

The Women’s Cross Country team was the recipient of the inaugural AMCAT Academic Team Award. The lady AMCATS had on overall G.P.A. of 3.73.

Junior Brenda Robledo received the Nancy Naroian Award. The award is presented to a female student athlete for extraordinary contributions to the AMC Athletic Department.

Senior Brad Peterson was the recipient of the Steven Washkevich Award the male counter-part of the Naroian award, bestowed to a male student athlete for his dedication to the Anna Maria Athletic Department.

Click HERE for photos from the evening.

Want to watch the highlight video again, click HERE.

Below is a list of the Coaches and Most Valuable Player award winners for all AMCAT teams.

Field Hockey – Katie Schebel (Coaches), Shannon Looney (MVP)

Volleyball – Alicia Bonneau (Coaches), Nichole Robbie (MVP)

Men’s Cross Country – Tom Horan (Coaches), Matt Moquin (MVP)

Women’s Cross Country – Megan Goddu (Coaches) Julianne Hartley (MVP)

Men’s Soccer – Bryan Blomgren (Coaches), Mike Dandurand (MVP)

Women’s Soccer – Cristina Turley (Coaches), Amanda Hevy (MVP)

Women’s Tennis – Nicole Goudreau (Coaches), Janice Wang (MVP)

Golf – Chris Kusz (Coaches), Nate McNamara (MVP)

Football – Santino Simone (Offensive MVP), Nii Quartey (Defensive MVP), Jamal Mitchell (Special Teams MVP), Kevin Brown (Coaches)

Men’s Basketball – Kevin McGee (Coaches), Anthony Click (MVP)

Women’s Basketball – Brooke Denver (Coaches), Samantha Ashton (MVP)

Softball – Justine Lalonde (Coaches), Mary Moroski (MVP)

Women’s Lacrosse – Marlena Donjacour (Coaches), Katie Schebel (MVP)

Men’s Lacrosse – Grant Pilkington (Coaches), Andrew Ellis (MVP)

Men’s Tennis – Ben Chick-Reny (Coaches), Mike Dandurand (MVP)

Baseball – Zach Rafferty (Coaches), Jeff Scafidi (MVP)