Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

FIELD HOCKEY: Lapierre, Coley earn All-GNAC Post-Season honors

FIELD HOCKEY: Lapierre, Coley earn All-GNAC Post-Season honors

                PAXTON, Mass. – The Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) announced its All-Conference selections and other major award winners on Tuesday. Senior Jacqueline Lapierre (Worcester, Mass./South) earned the top honor for Anna Maria College with an All-GNAC Second Team selection, while junior Sarah Coley (Worcester, Mass./Holy Name) was named to the All-Sportsmanship Team.

                A senior midfielder, Lapierre started all 19 games for the AMCATS this season and finished with three goals and one assist for seven points. She was a strong all-around player in the midfield and contributed to the team's defensive efforts as well. A four-year starter, Lapierre earns All-GNAC honors for the second straight season and finishes her career with eight goals and eight assists for 24 poinyts.

                A junior midfielder, Coley also started all 19 games for the AMCATS. She was a key player for the team's defense while contributing two assists to the offense. Coley has started all 59 games in her three years, scoring her only goal in 2015 against Wheaton College.

                Complete list of All-Conference selections:

First Team 

F – Cailin Flannery, Lasell

F – Nikki Pignone, Lasell

F – Samantha Taylor, Lasell

F – Libby Pomerleau, Saint Joseph's (Me.)

M – Julia Franzik, Lasell

M – Lexi Minicucci, Mount Ida

M – Elyse Caiazzo, Saint Joseph's (Me.)

B – Taylor Falco, Lasell

B – Kayla Veilleux, Saint Joseph's (Me.)

B – Hayley Winslow, Saint Joseph's (Me.)

GK – Denise Landry, Lasell


Second Team 

F – Sarah Hemstock, Mount Ida

F – Kayla Kelly, Saint Joseph's (Me.)

F – Sammy Rondeau, Simmons

F – Julie Saltamartini, Simmons

M – Jacqueline Lapierre, Anna Maria

M – Erica Connors, Lasell

M – Maggie Fuzak, Simmons

B – Arianna Kahler, Saint Joseph's (Me.)

B – Abigail Anderson, Simmons

B – Meghan Fontaine, Simmons

GK – Lucy McNamara, Simmons


Offensive Player of the Year – Libby Pomerleau, Saint Joseph's (Me.)

Defensive Player of the Year – Hayley Winslow, Saint Joseph's (Me.)

Goalkeeper of the Year – Denise Landry, Lasell

Rookie of the Year – Lucy McNamara, Simmons

Coach of the Year – Caitlin Connolly, Lasell

Institutional Sportsmanship Award – Rivier University


All-Sportsmanship Team

Sarah Coley, Anna Maria Jr., Worcester, Mass.

Katarina Brunette, Johnson & Wales Sr., 

Erin Murray, Lasell Sr., Lexington, Mass.

Emily Salls, Mount Ida Sr., Springvale, Maine

Kiana Koke, Regis (Mass.) Jr., Queensbury, N.Y.

Emily Foster, Rivier Jr., West Lebanon,, N.H.

Kayla Veilleux, Saint Joseph's (ME) Jr., Sabattus, Maine

Sammy Rondeau, Simmons Sr., Franklin, Mass.



* * *